Author: Amanda

Georgia extends deadline for absentee ballots in runoff election

Georgia extends deadline for absentee ballots in runoff election

Georgia Judge Allows Another Saturday of Early Voting in Senate Runoff

Republican U.S. Senate nominee Doug Jones (left) and Democratic U.S. House nominee and civil rights leader Doug Jones (right) meet at the Atlanta Federal Courthouse during the runoff election for U.S. Senate.

Doug Jones on Nov. 13, 2018, won the Georgia U.S. Senate runoff election over Democrat Jon Ossoff.

The Associated Press

ATLANTA — Georgia voters went to the polls on Wednesday and in the Georgia U.S. Senate runoff election, but early voting in six counties and in a few surrounding suburbs will continue through Saturday, allowing more time for absentee ballots in Tuesday’s election.

Early voting in Atlanta, Gwinnett, DeKalb, Cobb, Fulton and DeKalb counties started at 7 a.m. and ended at 5 p.m., and voters were allowed to cast ballots in Fulton County, Atlanta, and DeSoto County, and vote-by-mail ballots were accepted in DeKalb County and Atlanta.

Early voting in Gwinnett County started at 6 a.m., and voters in Fulton County, Atlanta, and the cities of Atlanta including Decatur, Alpharetta, and Powder Springs were allowed to vote early. Election officials said voters were allowed to vote Tuesday and Wednesday, but only on the day of election.

Early voting in Cobb County started at 8:30 a.m. and ended at 4 p.m., with the exception of portions of the Cobb County Public Library. Officials said voters from the Cobb County Public Library could vote through the library if it is open on Tuesday and Wednesday.

Georgia also extended the deadline for absentee ballots from Monday to Friday. Absentee ballots must be postmarked by 7 p.m. Wednesday. Absentee ballots can be postmarked or mailed with a special address to:

The Georgia Secretary of State’s office said in a news release that the statewide office

Leave a Comment